RSS

Using the PhotoSafe Plugin to Protect Important Photos in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3

June 22, 2011 | | Comments 4

Screenshot from Jeffery Freidl's PhotoSafe Plugin for Adobe Photoshop Lightroom v3There are some really smart people out there. One of the smartest people in the world has got to be Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Plugin master Mr. Jeffery Friedl! Mr. Friedl keeps coming up with fantastic plugins that teach Adobe Photoshop Lightroom new tricks. Today’s tutorials are all about his awesome new “PhotoSafe” plugin. Basically, once a file has been added to your PhotoSafe plugin inside of the Publish Services you cannot delete it from your Lightroom index in a drunken stupor!

The PhotoSafe plugin prevents knuckleheads like me from accidentally deleting really important files. This plugin leverages the power of Collections and the new Publish Services feature to create extra protection for your most important photos. I must point out here that this plugin does nothing to prevent you from deleting your precious photos at the operating system level. Likewise, the plugin cannot prevent you from reformatting your hard drive or other insane behavior. Using the PhotoSafe is no substitute for Professional-Grade Backup Plans but it is a great way to add an additional layer of protection to your most important images while you are working within Lightroom.

I should also point out that this plugin is donation ware. Like all of Jeffery Friedl’s plugins, you can try it out for free but if you like it please send him a donation!

Share

Filed Under: (04) Organizing with LightroomAdobe Photoshop Lightroom Tutorials

Tags:

About the Author: David Marx is a digital photography instructor whose engaging teaching style inspires photographers of all skill levels. David is an Adobe Certified Lightroom Expert. To learn more about David's Adobe Photoshop Lightroom software training seminars and digital photography field workshops please visit www.davidmarx.com or follow David Marx on Google+.